Hello, and welcome to the Peak House, one of the oldest houses in Medfield, and perhaps the most iconic! This is because it is one of the earliest surviving examples of Post-medieval English (Elizabethan) architecture in the United States, and it is on the National Register of Historic Places. Some of the original window glass, imported from England, is still present in the windows! The Peak House was built around 1668 by Benjamin Clark. This house was one of 32 houses that were burned down on February 21, 1676, during the King Philip’s War. After this, it was rebuilt by Benjamin around 1680, at that time the building stood further back than it current location. Through dendrochronology testing, it is believed that the current structure was built in 1711, likely by Benjamin’s son Seth. One interesting fact is that the wood used to build the house was dated to 1492, the year Columbus arrived in the West Indies! Since 1924 the Peak House has been owned by the Historical Society, which uses it for educational purposes, including being open for visitors Sunday afternoons in the summer.